Reader’s view: Don’t be bullied when voting on amendment | Duluth News Tribune | Duluth, Minnesota

Wouldn’t it be nice to feel comfortable and accepted, as Duluth Fire Capt. Dane Youngblom said he wishes for his son in the June 11 story, “Duluth rally promotes defeat of Minnesota marriage amendment”?

Wouldn’t it also be nice not to feel bullied at a union meeting? Wouldn’t it be nice to be assured by union leadership that workplace rights will be protected? I was among the “contention” at the Local 101 union vote on the marriage amendment that was mentioned in the June 11 story. I chose to vote my conscience, resulting in being made to feel uncomfortable and unaccepted. Words were said against deeply held beliefs and this nation’s history and law, all a part of who I am. A list was passed around with groups in support of redefining marriage, one of which was false witness of my faith.

I love my union brothers and sisters, but at times their tactics don’t seem right. I work for the citizens; it is a duty and honor to save lives, as mine once was saved by my hero, a Duluth firefighter. I cannot act against my conscience or freedom of speech. Some of my union brothers think my beliefs are harmful and shouldn’t be spoken in public. Love is truth.

“We, the people of the state of Minnesota, grateful to God for our civil and religious liberty, and desiring to perpetuate its blessings and secure the same to ourselves and our posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution,” reads our Minnesota Constitution.

Love between a man and a woman compliments itself, forming posterity by nature and nature’s God. Mothers and fathers, by nature, love their children in differing yet complimentary ways. This foundation should be encouraged by society.

As a Local 101 member and Duluth firefighter, I’ll vote my conscience and vote “yes” on the marriage amendment.

Sara Rowe

Duluth

via Reader’s view: Don’t be bullied when voting on amendment | Duluth News Tribune | Duluth, Minnesota.

Leave a Reply

